PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week
 

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2007   #1
Guanaco
 
keithallenlaw's Avatar
 
Location: S.E.M.O
Posts: 314
keithallenlaw will become famous soon enough
CamelKarma: 67
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Histogram...RGB or brightness?

A little survey here on which way you review your histogram. RGB or
brightness. Most importantly if you answer this which format do you
shoot? Raw or .jpg.

I use the RGB and I sometimes make adjustments in the WB Shift/BKT if I clip
a certain color. But, since I shoot RAW I find this a useless feature. After all,
your seeing a in-camera converted .jpg histogram anyway.

__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
You can find me here: http://www.pbase.com/keithallenlaw


keithallenlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007   #2
Photocamel Master
 
brian.austin's Avatar
 
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 7,978
brian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud ofbrian.austin has much to be proud of
CamelKarma: 10673
Editing OK?: Ask first
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Depends on the camera. Some don't show RGB histograms, only exposure.
__________________
Diligentia, Vis, Celeritas
brian.austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007   #3
Guanaco
 
keithallenlaw's Avatar
 
Location: S.E.M.O
Posts: 314
keithallenlaw will become famous soon enough
CamelKarma: 67
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian.austin View Post
Depends on the camera. Some don't show RGB histograms, only exposure.
Very observant you are. Obviously I meant this for the ones who have this
feature. Anyway, have you had the chance to use this option yourself?

Actually since you brought it up, the one who don't have this option are
welcome to elaborate as well.
__________________
You can find me here: http://www.pbase.com/keithallenlaw


keithallenlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007   #4
Dromedary
 
dougsmit's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,433
dougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to beholddougsmit is a splendid one to behold
CamelKarma: 3857
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

I use RGB, shoot RAW and find I often reshoot a flower to tame the blown red channel. Yes, the histogram shows the JPG but you have control over the settings for the JPG even though it is not the saved file. How much and what control depends on camera model but setting to a lower saturation and contrast might help if you suffer from false positives of blown highlights.
__________________
Doug Smith http://www.pbase.com/dougsmit
dougsmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007   #5
Dromedary
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,726
Jose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 407545
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Brightness, RAW and move the curve to the right carefully not to blow away the highlights.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #6
Llama
 
Location: Orange County
Posts: 845
PavelOlavich will become famous soon enough
CamelKarma: 83
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose View Post
Brightness, RAW and move the curve to the right carefully not to blow away the highlights.
Is it a crime to blow highlights?

Often one requires some blown highlights in order to expose the subject properly. I don't consider this a bad thing. Often, exposing to not blown any highlights makes for a bad picture.

Until our DSLR's provide human-like DR, this is a challange we all deal with.
__________________
________________________________________________
Wedding Hack, 5D's, L primes 14mm through 200, L zooms 16mm through 400.
PavelOlavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #7
Dromedary
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,726
Jose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armorJose strides over the forum like a knight in shining armor
CamelKarma: 407545
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

There is no crime in blowing highlights...you must do what gives you the image you want. All you are doing is loosing information.

"Often, exposing to not blown any highlights makes for a bad picture." Maybe, but with the miracles of Photoshop one can expose to preserve all the information that is available and then make the image look anyway you please. Once the image is blown, the information is lost.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #8
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,609
jfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to behold
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

I've already posted some of my thoughts that are related to this in this post: http://www.photocamel.com/forum/198571-post20.html. The in camera is only a general reference, as is the histo in the raw converter. Once the file is converted to an actual 16 bit/channel image format (raw is data, not an image format) I can look at both views and trust that the data I am viewing is accurate.
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #9
Camel Breath
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 11,609
jfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to beholdjfrancho is a splendid one to behold
CamelKarma: 4939
Editing OK?: No
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Quote:
Once the image is blown, the information is lost.
This is true. Though highlight recovery tools in raw converters has come quite a long way, it's better to get it right the first time.
__________________
<)))))><
jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007   #10
Llama
 
Location: Orange County
Posts: 845
PavelOlavich will become famous soon enough
CamelKarma: 83
Default Re: Histogram...RGB or brightness?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose View Post
There is no crime in blowing highlights...you must do what gives you the image you want. All you are doing is loosing information.

"Often, exposing to not blown any highlights makes for a bad picture." Maybe, but with the miracles of Photoshop one can expose to preserve all the information that is available and then make the image look anyway you please. Once the image is blown, the information is lost.

True, but why "save" unimportant data at the expense of the subject, especially the shadows on the subject?

Are you suggesting that one should never blow highlights?

To get the most image detail, especially in the shadows, one has no choice but to judiciously blown some highlights, or at the very least expose to the right...raw shooting wise.


__________________
Members don't see ads in threads. Register for your free account today and become a member of PhotoCamel to open up the site's many benefits and features.
__________________
________________________________________________
Wedding Hack, 5D's, L primes 14mm through 200, L zooms 16mm through 400.
PavelOlavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > Cameras and Lenses > Canon Forum »


Share this topic:

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen brightness E1/E330 jan56 Four Thirds and Micro Four Thirds Forum 4 05-07-2007 12:20 PM
Histogram and metering (30D) keithallenlaw Canon Forum 7 07-12-2006 09:29 PM
RGB Histogram DigitalPhotography Photography Talk 13 08-26-2005 02:40 PM