PhotoCamel: Your friendly photo community, with free discussion forums, digital photography reviews, photo sharing, galleries, downloads, blogs, photography contests, and prizes.
Photo of the Week Photo of the Week

Go Back   PhotoCamel - Your Friendly Photography Forum > The Photographer > The Business of Photography

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2009   #1
Alpaca

willowbridge will become famous soon enough
CamelKarma: 99
Editing OK?: Yes
Default Can I sell my photos legally??

Hi everyone! I'm still very new at photography and I'm not sure about the legalities of selling my photos sometimes. I have a question about selling high school sporting event shots.

My daughter is on her high school volleyball team. The school has a contract with a large studio for their yearbook and team sport photos. The studio DOES NOT shoot their actual sporting events. As a parent, I take my camera to the games and have gotten some great action shots of the girls. I was going to post them on my site and sell prints and then take a portion of the sales and give back to the volleyball booster club. The school shot this down if we "advertised" it as a fundraiser, but I think - as a parent - I should be able to sell my photos if they are taken at a public event. I know parents that were photographers have done this in the past. I don't know if they just didn't get caught or if it was their right to do so.

Since it's on school property, does this make a difference?

Thanks for any input!

Old 08-25-2009   #2
PhotoCamel Supporter DONATED
Photocamel Master